OAA recognizes design excellence  

learview Public Library, Stayner Branch (Stayner) by Lebel & Bouliane Inc.

Ontario Construction News staff writer

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has announced winners of the 2022 Design Excellence Awards and recipients of this year’s service awards to be celebrated at annual conference in Toronto and online in May.

OAA Design Excellence Awards are an opportunity for Ontario’s architecture professionals to showcase possibilities for the built environment and promote understanding of architecture and the allied arts.

This year’s submissions required inclusion of Energy Use Intensity (EUI) metrics, reflecting the OAA’s commitment to pursuing climate stability.

The eight winners include building types ranging from libraries and learning institutions to striking residences and performing arts venues in Southwestern Ontario and Northwestern Texas.

Chosen by a jury of design experts who reviewed 80 eligible submissions, projects were judged on criteria including creativity, context, sustainability, good design/good business, and legacy:

  • Buddy Holly Hall of Performing Arts and Sciences (Lubbock, Texas) by Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated (Design Architect), Parkhill (Architect of Record), and MWM Architects, Inc. (Associate Architect)
  • Centennial College Downsview Campus Centre for Aerospace and Aviation (Toronto) by MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd. (MJMA) In association with Stantec Architecture Ltd.
  • Clearview Public Library, Stayner Branch (Stayner) by Lebel & Bouliane Inc.
  • Springdale Library and Komagata Maru Park (Brampton) by RDH Architects Inc.;
  • Tile House (Toronto) by Kohn Shnier Architects;
  • Tom Patterson Theatre (Stratford) by Hariri Pontarini Architects;
  • Tommy Thompson Park Entrance Pavilion (Toronto) by DTAH Architects Limited; and
  • University College Revitalization (Toronto) by Kohn Shnier Architects in association with E.R.A. Architects Inc.

A Celebration of Excellence will be held at the Toronto Event Centre and live streamed on the OAA’s YouTube channel on May 12 at 7 p.m.

During the event, the OAA will also announce winners of the Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award, the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Design Excellence in Architecture, and the People’s Choice Award and showcase Smart Density, winners of Best Emerging Practice—a biennial award for a newer firm that demonstrates a clear vision, well-articulated goals, and proven effective strategies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.